Advertisement

Yurts vs. Domes

topic posted Wed, August 16, 2006 - 10:37 AM by  chycho
Share/Save/Bookmark
I’m new to the world of alternative shelters and require some advice. I’ve done some preliminary research into Domes and Yurts, trying to figure out which one is better. So far this is what I’ve found out

1) both Yurts and Domes have pro’s and Con’s so its not really correct to say that one is better then the other
2) it looks like Yurts might be a better choice in cooler climates while Domes seem to serve well in hot and dry areas
3) Yurts have a limit (up to this point) on their complexity while Domes have been explored to extreme levels with some crazy and large designs. This is probably because Domes have been in the North American mindset since the 1960’s.
4) Yurts seem to be a more stable structure for a compatibly priced Dome. Of course the high end Dome structures are as stable as they come.
5) Building underground seems to be a bad idea due to mold so that option is out
6) Yurts seem to cost less then Domes but have a smaller following. I’m guessing that this is because they haven’t been around North American as long as Domes
7) The information on how long you can live inside a mid-size Dome or Yurt is hard to come by. Some people seem to believe that both Domes and Yurts are temp shelters while others say they are permanent. Still not clear on this issue

There are a few other issues but that’s some of the main points.

I want to know what people here think. Any major issues I should look at? I’m looking to have a structure up in the Pacific Northwest type of climate (cool and wet with some snow in winters, summer is dryer but still humid, it is a rain Forrest after all). Also looking at a dry sunny region like southern California.

If anyone has any Links that they think I should be reading or suggestions please reply.

Thank you for the help
posted by:
chycho
Canada
Advertisement
  • Unsu...